Travel Ban & Travel Restriction Update

Trump Administration Announces Expansion of Travel Ban


In a January 31, 2020, Presidential Proclamation, the Trump administration expanded its travel ban to place visa and entry restrictions on travelers from six additional countries. 


What You Need to Know:

  • The six countries added to the existing travel ban are: Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania.
  • The expanded ban becomes effective at 12:01 a.m. (EST) on February 21, 2020.
  • The ban contains restrictions on immigrants but not on nonimmigrants, so it will not impact acquisition of nonimmigrant visas like F-1 student, J-1 exchange visitor, H-1B worker, etc., or of admission to the United States in those categories.


Responding to the Coronavirus Situation, United States Restricts Travel From China 


What You Need to Know: 

The Washington Post released a video of U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary Azar announcing a ban on foreign nationals traveling from China and quarantines for U.S. citizens coming from China. The restrictions will go into effect at 5:00 p.m. (EST) on Sunday, February 2.

  • "Foreign nationals, other than immediate family of U.S. citizens and permanent residents, who have traveled in China within the last 14 days will be denied entry into the United States for this time," per a presidential proclamation under INA 212(f), signed by President Trump on January 31. 
  • Any U.S. citizen returning to the United States who has been in Hubei province in the 14 days prior to their entry to the United States will be subject to up to 14 days of mandatory quarantine to ensure they have been provided proper medical care and health screening
  • Any U.S. citizen returning to the United States who has been anywhere else in mainland China in the 14 days prior to their entry to the United States will undergo "proactive entry health screening at a select number of ports of entry," and up to 14 days of "monitored self-quarantine" to ensure they have not contracted the virus and do not pose a public health risk.

Context: On January 30, the World Health Organization declared that the spread of the virus is a Public Health Emergency of International Concern. Earlier today, the U.S. State Department issued a Level 4 “do not travel” advisory for China.